Attendees at the 17th Annual FARE  Spring Luncheon at Cipriani Midtown.

Photography provided by Julie Skarratt Photography on behalf of FARE.

The 17th Annual FARE Spring Luncheon at Cipriani Midtown

Approximately 550 supporters attended the 17th Annual Spring Luncheon, presented by Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) on Tuesday, April 19, 2016 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City.  Over $830,000 was raised with proceeds benefiting FARE, a national non-profit organization with the mission of improving the quality of life and the health of individuals with food allergies, and to provide them hope through the promise of new treatments.   

It was a very spring festive feel at the FARE luncheon as attendees were wearing bright spring colors to the lunch. They enjoyed the cocktail hour while perusing thru the different allergy-free food vendors which seemed to be very educational to learn about for everyone whom attended the event. We had a chance to speak with a  few of the attendees and a lot of them were mothers who have to be extremely careful in the selection of their foods. The types of different vendors included non-allergic breakfast options, chocolate, frozen yogurt/ice creams, and more. They were also able to bid on the silent auction to help support the cause. 

The Legacy Award was presented to Abbey Braverman for her commitment to FARE and for raising awareness of the seriousness of food allergies. WABC-TV news anchor Lori Stokes, who is personally affected by food allergies, was the mistress of ceremonies.  Two young Broadway talents both affected by food allergies, Luca Padovan, currently in School of Rock The Musical and Jim Kaplan, currently in The King and I, were also in attendance and participated in the program.  

Julie Ader, Liana Silverstein Backal , Laura Tisch Broumand, Helen Jaffe, Roslyn Jaffe, Lianne Mandelbaum, Amie Rappoport McKenna, Roxanne Palin, Melissa Rosenbloom, and Stacey Saiontz were this year’s Co-Chairs.  Jennifer Hoine, Stephanie Leichter, and Anna Yaeger were the Vice Chairs.  Harriette Rose Katz and the Gourmet Advisory Service Team were the Event Advisory Chairs.  Jessica Mukasey Barkoff, Elizabeth Hecker, Lisa Jacobs, Sarah Kugelman, and Jamie Lichtenberg were the Goodie Bag Co-Chairs. Jolie Goldring, Nicole Lenner, Melissa Meyers, Kim Raimondi, and Jennifer Fisherman Ruff were the Raffle Co-Chairs. 

About FARE

Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) works on behalf of the 15 million Americans with food allergies, including all those at risk for life-threatening anaphylaxis. This potentially deadly disease affects 1 in every 13 children in the U.S. – or roughly two in every classroom. FARE’s mission is to improve the quality of life and the health of individuals with food allergies, and to provide them hope through the promise of new treatments. Our work is organized around three core tenets: LIFE – support the ability of individuals with food allergies to live safe, productive lives with the respect of others through our education and advocacy initiatives; HEALTH – enhance the healthcare access of individuals with food allergies to state-of-the-art diagnosis and treatment; and HOPE – encourage and fund research in both industry and academia that promises new therapies to improve the allergic condition. 

For more information, please visit here and find them on Twitter @FoodAllergy, Facebook, YouTube, and Pinterest.